New councils take control in Dorset

Dorset Council went live on Monday and will continue to serve residents across the county, as two organisations.

It replaces the existing district and borough councils (East Dorset, North Dorset, Purbeck, West Dorset, Weymouth & Portland) and Dorset County Council. This brings together almost 5,000 employees, plus colleagues in education, making over 8,000 in total who serve the 375,000 residents in the Dorset Council area. BCP Council will serve Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole.

Moving from nine councils to two will ensure that resources are used where they are needed most, to provide the day-to-day services Dorset residents rely on.

Although it sounds like a big change, the council ensured that residents should not notice any major changes to services.

Bin days will stay the same, you’ll be able to park in the same car parks, and the council will continue to maintain roads and public spaces as normal as well as caring for the most vulnerable members of our community.

Matt Prosser, Dorset Council’s Chief Executive said: “Our first budget protects front line services such as education, social care and waste collection. This wouldn’t have been possible without the re-organisation of our councils. We know that some residents are concerned that moving to a single unitary council might mean their local community receives less attention and representation. I’d like to reassure people that addressing this will be a top priority. We’re excited for the opportunities it will bring to Dorset.”

How to contact Dorset Council

You can contact Dorset Council in the same way as before – whether that’s online, by phone, email or in person.

Stay informed

Get the latest news from Dorset Council by signing up to their e-newsletter or by following them on social media. You can find us on FacebookTwitterInstagram and LinkedIn.